iloveafarmer

so I can pretend someone is listening

I am knitting mittens.

You can buy them anywhere from Macy’s to the grocery store in Toledo.  So why would I knit mittens?

1.  I have leftover yarn from making thick socks and more leftovers from a sweater that are practically screaming at me to be used up.  Using up leftovers makes me feel frugal, and I love to feel frugal.  Then I can splurge every now and then.  Then I’ll have more leftover yarn, which I will use up and feel frugal, then I can splurge.  Etc.

2.  The weather is going to turn relatively cold.  Highs in the 30’s and sunny, which will mean the kids will want to wander outside a bit.  I might even wander outside a bit, if I don’t have anything to knit.

3.  Knitting is so predictable.  Knit, knit, purl, purl.  Repeat enough and you get a cuff.  Knit, knit, knit, knit.  Throw in some increases and you get a place to add the thumb while you’re knitting the hand.  Knit, knit, knit.  The hand is done, pick up stitches for the thumb, a few more rows and voila!  A mitten.  Made with love in every stitch.  So predictable.  Follow the directions, get a mitten.  If only the rest of life could provide that kind of satisfaction.

4.  Knitting is fun.  

5.  Knitting probably keeps me sane, though it might drive others the opposite way.

6.  Knitting “necessities” like mittens makes me useful.  

7.  My cat likes to supervise my knitting.  It makes him feel useful.  It also makes him slightly crazy, because he knows he mustn’t touch the yarn, or play with the yarn, or chew on the yarn, because that makes Mom crazy.  Crazy Mom is way less fun than playing with yarn.  Smart cat.

8.  Knitting doesn’t generate a mess like cooking, and knitting keeps your hands busy so it’s hard to snack. 

9.  Knitting is fun.  Bears repeating.

December 29, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

